CBBM PhD students awarded by German Endocrine Society

CBBM was twice successful at the annual research awards of the German Endocrine Society (DGE).

Nuria Lopez-Alcantara, PhD student of the DGF funded Transregio Research Consortium 296 “LocoTact” in the department of Molecular Endocrinology, received the 5000€ von-Basedow Award in Thyroid Research for her project on the role of thyroid hormone receptor β in the development and progression of the non-alcoholic steatohepatitis, a very common inflammatory liver disease.

Julia Maier, also a PhD student in LocoTact working at the same group, was awarded the 1500€ travel grant of the “DGE Young Active Research in Endocrinology”, allowing her to attend the annual conference of the American Thyroid Association in Washington this year.

„This is a great success for my PhD students”, says Jens Mittag, groupleader of Molecular Endocrinology at the Institute for Endocrinology and Diabetes. “It is particularly remarkable that we were able to get the prestigious “von Basedow Award” for the fourth time in the past ten years. This clearly demonstrates the high quality of research that is conducted at the CBBM and underlines the importance of thyroid hormone research and the unique postion of our LocoTact consortium in the national endocrine landscape.”

The prize ceremony will be held on the 05.06.2023 at the annual meeting of the DGE in Baden-Baden.

Contact: Prof. Dr. Jens Mittag, CBBM, Institut für Endokrinologie & Diabetes, AG Molekulare Endokrinologie, Jens.Mittag(at)uni-luebeck.de, 0451-31017826, Webseite: www.endodiab.uni-luebeck.de  

Prize information DGE: https://www.endokrinologie.net/preise-stipendien.php


Finanzierung durch die DFG im Rahmen von SBF296 „LocoTact“: www.locotact.de